www.publish.csiro.au/journals/hras

## Editorial

This issue of *Historical Records of Australian Science* is the last to be produced under the guidance of Professor David Curtis as Chair of the Editorial Board. Since being appointed to this position in 2002, he has, like his predecessors, taken primary responsibility for identifying suitable authors for the biographical memoirs of deceased Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science that are published in the journal, and then for the sometimes thankless task of shepherding the progress of memoirs to the point where they are ready to be submitted for publication. In addition, he has been a constant source of support and wise advice for the Editor. We wish him well as he relinquishes this heavy involvement in the journal's affairs, and thank him for his tireless efforts on its behalf. The Academy has appointed Dr John Passioura, FAA, as the new Chair of the Editorial Board. Dr Passioura is an agricultural scientist and environmental biologist who spent his working life with CSIRO, chiefly at the Division of Plant Industry.

Arrangements have also been set in place that will see Dr Libby Robin, who has been Book Reviews Editor since 2000, become Joint Editor of the journal together with the current Editor, Professor Rod Home, at the beginning of 2010. It is envisaged that during the following few years, there will be a staged transfer of more and more editorial responsibilities to Dr Robin, until she becomes sole Editor in about 2014.

These arrangements require that a new Book Reviews Editor also be appointed. We are pleased to announce that Dr Sara Maroske has agreed to take on this task from the beginning of 2010. Readers of the journal will recognise her name as one of the joint winners of the inaugural National Museum of Australia student essay prize in the history of Australian science, whose winning essay we published in 2006. She is a research associate at the Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne and lectures in History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Melbourne. Dr Maroske also becomes *ex officio* a member of the journal's Editorial Board.