This special issue provides a record of the speeches made at the twenty-fifth anniversary celebrations of the Australian Academy of Science, held in Canberra 26–29 March 1979. Some weeks earlier, on 16 February, the anniversary of the day in 1954 when Her Majesty the Queen presented the Royal Charter to the first President of the Academy at Canberra, we conveyed our loyal greetings to Her Majesty. These greetings introduce this issue, which includes the reply from our Founder, delivered by His Excellency the Governor-General during the ceremony on the morning of 26 March. Also included are the speeches by Sir Mark Oliphant, the Foundation President of the Academy, and by the Prime Minister of Australia, the Right Honorable J. M. Fraser. The climax of the formal ceremony was the speech by His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales following his induction as a Royal Fellow.

The Jubilee ceremony opened with greetings to representatives of a number of sister academies of science, including Lord Todd, President of the Royal Society of London which sponsored the foundation of the Australian Academy of Science. Immediately after the formal ceremony, His Royal Highness and their Excellencies visited the Jubilee Exhibition, mounted in the Fellows room, and also the school science exhibits mounted in the library, where Prince Charles presented prizes for the best exhibits, essays and science cartoons. These activities were followed by a luncheon and garden party at University House, in magnificent autumn weather.

This first ceremonial day of the Academy's silver jubilee was then followed by a series of symposia and public lectures. The proceedings of the symposia are being published separately by the Academy. However, in this special issue of our Records we include the Jubilee Oration by His Excellency Sir Zelman Cowen, together with the toast proposed by His Excellency at the Jubilee Dinner, and the texts of the Burnet Lecture by Sir Gustav Nossal and the lecture by Professor J. M. Swan delivered during this most enjoyable jubilee.

Lloyd Evans, President